Skip to main content
Text size:
InstantAtlas Server Logo
InstantAtlas™ Server 6

State of the Area reports updated

05 November 2013

The Wakefield District is not an equal, homogenous place. A wide variety of social, economic and cultural conditions combine to create a patchwork of distinctive communities and neighbourhoods. These differences may prompt agencies to deliver services in particular ways and the priorities for local people in one area may be different to those of people living in another area.

The Wakefield Together area working model has been developed to reflect and address the differences that exist across the district. For the purposes of area working, the district is divided into seven areas: Castleford; Normanton and Featherstone; Pontefract and Knottingley; South East; Wakefield Central; Wakefield North West; and Wakefield Rural. Some of the seven areas also include ‘priority neighbourhoods’ where intelligence suggests that specific targeted support is required. There are 12 priority neighbourhoods in the district overall.

The Council’s Performance and Intelligence Team, collaborating with partners, has developed a set of more detailed reports to focus on each of the seven areas in turn. The aim of the reports is to enable a better understanding of local conditions and the changes that occur over time. The reports draw on both quantitative and qualitative information from a wide range of sources – both national and local.